Capacity development for ICEP partners

From 22ndto 25thof November, five ICEP partner organizations met for an exchange seminar in Nairobi.

Building and strengthening of local structures

IICEP bases its development work on reliable and professional local partners. In order to improve the provision of vocational training in Kenya and Uganda and to better target local markets, ICEP has established a network of 5 partners with 8 training centers, providing individual and network support.

 

Exchange of experiences in Nairobi

VFrom 22ndto 25thof November, Benedikt Metternich and Martin Maier from ICEP met with staff from the partner organizations COWA, Sharing Youth Center, Imani, St. Kizito and ECT for a seminar. In addition to intensive exchange of experiences, different topics were worked out in working groups and discussions.

On the one hand, there were pedagogical and didactic questions such as training of trainers or teaching of soft skills and basic business knowledge. Together, procedures were developed to involve companies for training purposes, and elements of the Austrian dual training system that are applicable in the context of East Africa were discussed. The development of promotional brochures, teaching materials and curricula and the sharing of facilities and machines are further examples of the close and fruitful cooperation. Finally, action plans for lobbying, joint press appearances and conferences have been established to further publicize the importance of technical education.

Charlotte Kirnbauer from the HTL-Ottakring enriched the seminar with her valuable experiences from an Austrian vocational school and the cooperation with companies. She also gave an impulse on safety at work. In cooperation with HTL Ottakring, the safety standards of vocational training centers will be improved in 2018.

What struck me particularly was the enthusiasm and sincerity with which the partner organizations have been engaged in the program in recent years and how they have been advancing it with the support of ICEP. Today, they offer vocational training for young people from very disadvantaged backgrounds and have independently cooperated with partners from the business sector – from one-women businesses for apprentices in hairdressing to larger auto repair shops for apprentices in mechanics.

It was clear how much they listened to each other and took ideas from each other, which they want to implement themselves in the future. This conference has definitely helped to increase intra-African networking. The keynote speeches were carefully followed and discussed. The offer of HTL Ottakring to conceptualize training on the topic of safety at work was also very well received.

Dr. Charlotte Kirnbauer

ICEP Consultant

ICEP cooperation with partners

New or improved training courses

Youths who were trained in 2016

Vocational trainers that were trained in 2016

%

Reduction of the drop-out rate during training

Capacity Development: to ensure long-lasting development work

Capacity development of partner organisations is part of the work of ICEP. We support our local partner to improve their management and their structures and help them to build up networks with other local partners. Our capacity development apporach aims at strengthening the organisational and financial independence of the partners and to enhance the sustainability of the development work.

Organisational development:ICEP provides strategic counselling and supports collaborators or partner institutions through further training.

Partizipative Implementation:Collaborative planning and implementation of projects generate an important added value for the partner organisations. In this way, a collaboration with ICEP encourages institutional learning processes, develops joint expertise and helps building long-term sustainable structures.

Know-how Transfer: ICEP identifies similar problems in different regions, connects partners through South-South cooperation or institutionalized exchanges and let them apply their know-how in new projects.

With ICEP, we have developed a methodology for improving the quality of schooling in rural areas, with which we have been working very successfully for years. It was also a very valuable experience for us to pass on this methodology to another ICEP partner in Nicaragua.

Eunice de Alvarado

Programm Manager Fundap

With ICEP we have developed practically all our programs for women entrepreneurs. We also had experts from NGOs from Uganda and Cameroon with us who specifically wanted to adopt the multiplier approach. The exchange in the ICEP network is and always has been very enriching for us.

Susan Kinyua

Programm Manager Kianda

ICEP has brought together various institutions, which work in the same field and have the same goals. We make visits of other vocational training centers and exchange experiences and learn from each other. For me this exchange is one of the big wins with ICEP.

Austine Omeno

Principal, ECT Kenya

ICEP promotes its work through partners.

Women’s Empowerment

Together with is Kenyan partner Kianda, ICEP developed a project approach that efficiently and effectively helps women in rural areas to build a small business through multiplicators. Exchange seminars provided a plattform to share the approach with partners in Uganda and Guatemala, El Salvador and Nicaragua. Internships of collaborators from one partners with another partners also played an important role in adopting the methodology. ICEP was the facilitator of this know-how transfer between the partners. The South-South Network, which ICEP has formed to establish and further develop the multiplicator approach, now also includes partners in Kazakhstan and Cameroon.

Educational Upgrading

ICEP’s integral project approach of educational upgrading of primary education in rural communities supports parents and teachers and creates sustainable structures. In 2006, ICEP, together with its partner organization FUNDAP, launched a first project in Guatemala, which worked on three levels: coaching and involvement of parents in the administration of schools, further education and practical training for teachers, and a revision of teaching materials. ICEP’s Educational Upgrading methodology can be adapted to different local conditions together with competent local partners. In 2008 ICEP brought the program to Brazil for the first time, in 2009 to Nicaragua. In 2016, a first project with NRT in Kenya was prepared, and is being implemented since January 2017.

Newsletter

Keep me informed!

Donation

Support our work!

ICEP-membership

Every member is much welcomed!

Agnes, Schuhverkäuferin

ICEP counts on
strong local partners

CEP conceptualises and implements projects in Africa, Latin America and Central Asia, which are education-orientated and support people in discovering and developing their talents and skills. People should get the opportunity to lead a self-determined life based on their own work.

Close cooperation

In developing countries ICEP works in close cooperation with organizations that are rooted in the respective region. ICEP contributes what the local partner is lacking or is not able to offer: Specific technical and methodological expertise, financial resources as well as networks and management know-how. In general, ICEP does not assume operational tasks, but entrusts them to professional and trustworthy partner oprganisations.

Due Diligence

When selecting partners, ICEP always follows two criteria: trustworthiness and professionalism. Both are equally important for ICEP.  Each cooperation is based on trust. However, good intentions are not enough. All partners of ICEP not only have a vison for a  better future, real commitment and a sense of responsibility, but also the organisational prerequisites and the technical know-how to promote sustainable development in their region.

One of the guiding principles of our work, which may not be guarantee for impact, but at least strongly favor it, is to work as much as possible through local partner organisations. And to help our partners to excel beyond their limitations. So far we have been able to identify good and trustworthy organizations in every country, which we have developed institutionally and that are implementing excellent work.

Benedikt Metternich

ICEP development program

Our development partners

Wir are grateful to all our private donors,
who support our program for business promotion!

MEHRschenken
Giving MORE!

ICEP

Möllwaldplatz 5 | 1040 Wien
T +43 (0)1 9690254
E icep[at]icep.at

ICEP Donation Account

IBAN: AT202011100002566133
BIC/SWIFT: GIBAATWWXXX

Thank you very much for your donation!

Newsletter

Learn about our projects, publications and events!

Impressum Kontakt

Capacity Development für ICEPs Partner

Vom 22. bis 25. November trafen sich 5 Partnerorganisationen von ICEP zu einem Austausch-Seminar in Nairobi

Aufbau und Stärkung lokaler Strukturen

ICEP stützt sich bei der Umsetzung seiner Entwicklungsarbeit auf zuverlässige und profesisonelle lokale Partner. Um die Berufsbildungsangebote in Kenia und Uganda zu verbessern und mehr auf den Arbeitsmarkt auszurichten, hat ICEP in dieser Region ein Netzwerk von 5 Partnern mit 8 Ausbildungszentren gebildet, die es einzeln und auch als Netzwerk unterstützt.

Erfahrungsaustausch in Nairobi

Vom 22. bis 25. November trafen sich Benedikt Metternich und Martin Maier von ICEP mit Mitarbeitern der Partnerorganisationen COWA, Sharing Youth Centre, Imani, St. Kizito und ECT zu einem Seminar. Neben intensivem Erfahrungsaustausch wurden in Arbeitsgruppen und Diskussionen verschiedene Themenbereiche aufgearbeitet.

Einerseits ging es um pädagogisch-didaktische Fragen wie die Ausbildung der Ausbildner oder die Vermittlung von Soft Skills und kaufmännischen Basiswissens. Gemeinsam wurden weiters Vorgangsweisen zur Einbindung von Unternehmen für Ausbildungszwecke entwickelt und Elemente der österreichischen dualen Ausbildung besprochen, die im Kontext Ostafrikas anwendbar sind. Die Erarbeitung von Werbe-Prospekten, Lehrmaterialien und Curricula und die gemeinsame Nutzung von Einrichtungen und Maschinen sind weitere Beispiele der engen und fruchtbaren Zusammenarbeit. Schließlich wurden Aktionspläne für Lobbying-Maßnahmen, gemeinsame Presseauftritte und Konferenzen festgelegt, um die Wichtigkeit von technischer Ausbildung stärker im öffentlichen Bewusstsein zu verankern.

Charlotte Kirnbauer von der HTL-Ottakring bereicherte das Seminar mit ihren wertvollen Erfahrungen aus einer österreichischen Berufsschule und der Zusammenarbeit mit Unternehmen. Sie gab auch einen Impuls zum Thema Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz. In der Kooperation mit der HTL Ottakring sollen 2018 die Sicherheitsstandards der Berufbildungszentren verbessert werden.

Was mir besonders auffiel, war der Enthusiasmus und die Ernsthaftigkeit, mit denen die Partnerorganisationen die Arbeit der vergangenen Jahre betrieben und mit der Unterstützung von ICEP vorangebracht haben. Sie bieten heute berufliche Ausbildung für Jugendliche aus sehr benachteiligten Verhältnissen an und haben eigenständig Kooperationen mit Partnern aus der Wirtschaft – von Einfrauenbetriebe für Friseurlehrlinge bis zu größeren Autowerkstätten für Mechaniker-Lehrlinge – ermöglicht.

Augenscheinlich war, wie sehr sie sich gegenseitig zuhörten und voneinander Ideen aufgriffen, die sie in Zukunft auch selbst realisieren wollen. Diese Konferenz hat definitiv dazu beigetragen, dass innerafrikanische Vernetzung verstärkt stattfindet.

Die Impulsvorträge wurden aufmerksam verfolgt und diskutiert. So wurde auch das Angebot der HTL Ottakring Schulungen zum Thema Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz sehr gut angenommen.

Dr. Charlotte Kirnbauer

ICEP Konsulentin

ICEP Zusammenarbeit mit Partnerorganisationen

Neu aufgestellte oder verbesserte Ausbildungskurse

Jugendliche, die 2016 ausgebildet wurden

Berufsbildunglehrer, die 2016 fortgebildet wurden

%

Reduktion der Drop-out Rate während der Ausbildung

Capacity Development: Entwicklungsarbeit nachhaltig ausrichten

Capacity Buildung von Partnerorganisationen ist Teil des ICEP-Entwicklungsprogramms. ICEP unterstützt seine lokalen Partner dabei, Management und Strukturen zu professionalisieren und hilft beim Aufbau regionaler Partnernetzwerke. ICEPs Capacity Buildung-Ansatz zielt darauf ab, die organisatorische und finanzielle Eigenständigkeit der Partner zu förden und damit die Nachhaltigkeit ihrer Entwicklungsarbeit zu sichern.

Organisationsentwicklung: ICEP leistet Strategieberatung und fördert die Mitarbeiter von Partnerorganisationen durch Maßnahmen zur Weiterbildung.

Partizipative Implementierung: Die gemeinsame Planung und Umsetzung von Projekten erzeugt für die Partner einen wichtigen Mehrwert. Im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit regt ICEP institutionelle Lernprozesse an, entwickelt gemeinsame Expertise und hilft, tragfähige Strukturen aufzubauen.

Know-how Transfer: ICEP identifiziert ähnliche Problemstellungen in unterschiedlichen Regionen, vernetzt Partner im Rahmen von Süd-Süd Kooperationen und bringt deren Know-how in neuen Projekten zur Anwendung.

Wir haben mit ICEP eine Methodologie zur Verbesserung der Lehrerqualität im ländlichen Raum entwickelt, mit der wir jetzt schon seit Jahren sehr erfolgreich arbeiten. Es war für uns dann auch eine sehr wertvolle Erfahrung, diese Methodologie an einen ICEP Partner in Nicaragua weiterzugeben.

Eunice de Alvarado

Programm Manager Fundap

Mit ICEP haben wir praktisch alle unsere Programme für Unternehmerinnen entwickelt. Wir hatten auch Experten von NGOs aus Uganda und Kamerun bei uns, die konkret den Multiplikatorinnen-Ansatz übernehmen wollten. Der Austausch im ICEP Netzwerk ist und war für uns immer sehr bereichernd.

Susan Kinyua

Programm Manager Kianda

Within the SWEAR project ICEP has brogether together various institutions, which work in the same field and have the same goals for our beneficiaries. We make visits of other vocational training centers and exchange experiences and learn from each other. For me this exchange is the big win with ICEP.

Austine Omeno

Principal, ECT Kenya

ICEP treibt seine Arbeit über Partnernetzwerke voran

Frauen-Empowerment

Gemeinsam mit seiner kenianischen Partnerorganisation Kianda entwickelte ICEP einen Projektansatz, der Frauen abseits von Ballungszentren über Multiplikatorinnen effizient und effektiv dabei unterstützt, ein kleines Geschäft aufzubauen. Im Rahmen von Austausch-Seminaren wurde der Ansatz auch Partnern in Uganda bzw. Guatemala, El Salvador und Nicaragua weitergegeben. Auch Praktika von Mitarbeiterinnen eines Partners bei anderen Partnern spielten eine wichtige Rolle bei der Übernahme der Methodologie. ICEP hatte bei diesem Know how-Transfer zwischen den Partnern die Aufgabe des Facilitators inne. Das Süd-Süd Netzwerk, das ICEP zur Etablierung und Weiterentwicklung des Multiplikatorinnen-Ansatzes gebildet hat, schließt heute auch Partner in Kasachstan und Kamerun mit ein.

Educational Upgrading

ICEPs integraler Projektansatz des Educational Upgrading der Grundschulbildung in ländlichen Gemeinden fördert Eltern und Lehrer und schafft nachhaltige Strukturen. 2006 hat ICEP gemeinsam mit seiner Partnerorganisation FUNDAP in Guatemala ein erstes Projekt gestartet, das auf drei Ebenen ansetzte: Coaching und Einbindung der Eltern in die Verwaltung der Schulen, Weiterbildung und praktische Trainings für Lehrer sowie eine Überarbeitung der Lehrmittel. ICEPs Educational Upgrading-Methodologie kann gemeinsam mit kompetenten Partnern vor Ort an unterschiedliche lokale Gegebenheiten angepasst werden. 2008 brachte ICEP das Programm erstmals nach Brasilien, 2009 nach Nicaragua. 2016 wurde ein erstes Projekt mit NRT in Kenia vorbereitet, das ab Jänner 2017 umgesetzt wird.

Newsletter

Halten Sie mich zu Ihren Aktivitäten
auf dem Laufenden!

Spende

Unterstützen Sie unsere Arbeit
mit einer Spende!

ICEP-Mitglied

Wir freuen sich über jedes
fördernde ICEP-Mitglied!

Agnes, Schuhverkäuferin

ICEP setzt auf
starke lokale Partner

ICEP konzipiert und implementiert Projekte in Afrika, Lateinamerika und Zentralasien, die ausbildungsorientiert sind und Menschen dabei unterstützen, ihre Talente und Fähigkeiten zu entdecken und zu entfalten. Die Menschen sollen eine Chance erhalten, ein selbstbestimmtes Leben auf Grundlage ihrer eigenen Arbeit zu führen.

Enge Kooperation

ICEP arbeitet dabei in enger Kooperation mit Organisationen, die in der jeweiligen Region verwurzelt sind, und bringt das ein, was der lokale Partner nur zum Teil leisten oder bieten kann: Spezifische Fach- und Methodenkompetenz, finanzielle Mittel sowie Netzwerke und Management Know-how. ICEP nimmt im allgemeinen keine operativen Aufgaben wahr, sondern legt diese in die Hände von profesionellen und zuverlässigen Partnerorganisationen.

Due Diligence

Bei der Auswahl seiner Partner verfolgt ICEP konsequent zwei Kriterien: Vetrauenswürdigkeit und Professionalität. Beides ist für ICEP gleich wichtig. Jede Zusammenarbeit basiert auf Vertrauen. Die gute Absicht allein reicht aber auch nicht. Alle Partner von ICEP besitzen neben der Vision von einer besseren Zukunft, echtem Engagement und Verantwortungsbewusstsein auch die organisatorischen Voraussetzungen und das technische Know-how, um in ihrer Region Entwicklung nachhaltig voranzutreiben.

Einer der Grundsätze, nach denen wir unsere Arbeit ausrichten und die Impact zwar nicht garantieren, aber doch zumindest stark begünstigen, heißt, möglichst viel über lokale Partner zu machen. Und unsere Partner dabei zu unterstützen, über sich selbst hinauszuwachsen. Wir konnten bis jetzt in jedem Land gute und vertrauenswürdige Organisationen identifizieren, die wir organisatorisch weiterentwickelten und die hervorragende Arbeit leisten.

Benedikt Metternich

ICEP Entwicklungsprogramm

Unsere Entwicklungspartner

Wir danken all unseren Förderern und Spendern,
die unsere Entwicklungsarbeit unterstützen!

MEHRschenken
Die Spende zum VERschenken

ICEP

Möllwaldplatz 5 | 1040 Wien
T +43 (0)1 9690254
E icep[at]icep.at

ICEP Spendenkonto

IBAN: AT202011100002566133
BIC/SWIFT: GIBAATWWXXX

Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Spende!

Newsletter

Erfahren Sie von unseren Projekten, Publikationen und Veranstaltungen!