Better job opportunities for youths in Uganda

With support from ICEP, Cowa VTC has rebuilt the welder training – with success.

Vocational training with employment perspectives

IIn 2016, Cowa VTC started welder training in a new way: in addition to the 18-month training in the vocational training center, a 6-month internship was also provided. John Koeber was one of 7 graduates in 2017 – and today he is happy to have a well-paid, steady job at the age of 22. After the internship the company Jagdev offered him an employment contract.

 

Successful reorientation of training at Cowa VTC

In light of the good development of the construction industry in Uganda, good welders are in demand. The new two-year welder training is a result of Cowa VTC’s collaboration with ICEP. Since early 2015, as part of the SWEAR program co-funded by the Austrian Development Agency, ICEP has been supporting the VTC in Kampala, along with 7 other vocational training centers in Kenya and Uganda, to revise its training curriculum and provide training that is in line with market demand.

In 2017, 31 young people started training in welding, in 2018 a next session of similar size will follow. Also every year, new companies, where young people can complete an internship, join the program. Many young people are then hired by these companies. So the realignment of the welder training is already a success.

In addition to the 2-year welding course, Cowa VTC also offers a 5-month course for nearly 100 young people working in the informal sector, the so-called Jua Kali sector. The additional qualification should help them to find better paid jobs in the construction sector. Apart from welding, Cowa VTC currently trains 27 agronomists and 21 carpenters – all with good job prospects.

The 2-year welding course at Cowa VTC

%

Percentage of graduates with permanent employment

Youths who are being trained in 2018

%

Training time spent at companies

Companies that started cooperating in 2017

ICEP and SWEAR

Since 1999, ICEP has been working in the field of vocational training in East Africa. As part of the SWEAR program, co-financed by the Austrian Development Agency, ICEP has been supporting eight vocational training centers in Nairobi and Kampala since the beginning of 2015 to revise their training provision and offer training courses in line with market demand.

The program includes improvements to didactic and educational structures, the integration of life skills into the curriculum and the expansion of cooperation with companies and public administrators. ICEP is committed to the exchange of know-how between training centers in order to secure high quality vocational training in the project region for the long term.

As part of SWEAR, Cowa VTC has successfully tailored its training programs to the needs of the private sector – the only way to provide youths with real job perspectives. Chrispine Wanya, who has been leading Cowa VTC since 2015, underlines how much her work has benefited from the exchange of know-how with other training centers. Without networking with the other ICEP partners, she would not have been able to access the business sector. “There are always other companies that want to cooperate with us in vocational training. This would not be possible without SWEAR.”

SWEAR helped us to focus on the institutional development plan. We were pushed to write clearly the mission and the vision. We also did a market survey, which helped us to redesign courses. We learned from entrepreneurs and plant managers that soft skills are missing.

Guiseppe Valerio

Advisor, St. Kizito Kenya

One of our teachers has been to Nairobi three times. She was able to show us what she has learnt. ICEP has also always emphasised the collaboration with enterprises and they keep spreading the gospel, so I know in future we will have even more collaboration with the private sector.

Guinqo Hilaire

Principal, SYC Uganda

The SWEAR project brings together various institutions, which work in the same field and have the same goals for our beneficiaries. We make visits of other vocational training centers and exchange experiences and learn from each other. For me that’s the big win with SWEAR.

Austine Omeno

Principal, ECT Kenya

Partner for development

ICEP works in developing countries in close cooperation with organizations that are rooted in the respective region. In the case of the SWEAR program, ICEP has formed a network of 8 training centres in Uganda and Kenya, which it supports individually and as a network.

When selecting partners, ICEP always follows two criteria: trustworthiness and professionalism. Both are equally important for ICEP. Every collaboration is based on trust. But good intentions alone are not enough. All 8 SWEAR partners not only have a vision for a better future, a real commitment and a sense of responsibility, but also the organizational prerequisites and the technical know-how to sustainably promote vocational training.

Newsletter

Keep me informed!

Donation

Support our work!

ICEP-membership

Every member is much welcomed!

Peter, Elektriker

ICEP and ocupational training

ICEP provides youths in developing countries with better opportunities for employment and income through vocational training.

Orientating training along market demand

This is mainly about strengthening the capacities of vocational training centres, orienting the training they provide on market demand and improving the cooperation with companies and the public sector. The integration of international companies into local vocational education and training systems is a particularly effective lever for ICEP to achieve more and better employment in a region.

Training for men and women in the informal sector

A second objective of the work of ICEP is to provide affordable qualification services for men and women who need to secure their livelihoods in the informal sector, which is usually dominant in developing countries.

One of the difficulties of many vocational training centres in developing countries is that graduates often have only very poor perspectives for employment after training. Partly because there are only few positions available. Partly because the quality of the training is inadequate. Because of economic development in the region, an increasing number of companies in Nairobi and Kampala are seeking skilled labour. It is very satisfying to see how the vocational training centres of the SWEAR program continuously improve the quality of their training by adapting it to the needs of the market. This provides many young people with a real perspective for a better future.

Benedikt Metternich

ICEP development program

Our funding partner

We are also grateful to all our private donors who support our development program!

Capacity Development

Capacity development of partner organisations is part of the work of ICEP. We support our local partner to improve their management and their structures and help them to build up networks with other local partners. Our capacity development apporach aims at strengthening the organi-sational and financial independence of the partners and to enhance the sustainability of the development work.

Organisational development:ICEP provides strategic counselling and supports collaborators or partner institutions through further training.

Partizipative Implementation:Collaborative planning and implementation of projects generate an important added value for the partner organisations. In this way, a collaboration with ICEP encourages institutional learning processes, develops joint expertise and helps building long-term sustainable structures.

Know-how Transfer: ICEP identifies similar problems in different regions, connects partners through South-South cooperation or institutionalized exchanges and let them apply their know-how in new projects.

 

Giving a future!

 

ICEP

Möllwaldplatz 5 | 1040 Wien
T +43 (0)1 9690254
E icep[at]icep.at

ICEP Donation Account

IBAN: AT202011100002566133
BIC/SWIFT: GIBAATWWXXX

Thank you very much for your donation!

Newsletter

Learn about our projects, publications and events!

Impressum Kontakt

Bessere Berufschancen für Jugendliche in Uganda

Mit der Unterstützung von ICEP hat Cowa VTC die Schweißer-Ausbildung neu aufgesetzt – mit Erfolg.

Berufsbildung mit Job-Perspektive

Im Jahr 2016 startete Cowa VTC die Schweißerausbildung in der neuen Form: neben der 18-monatigen Ausbildung im Berufsbildungszentrum sieht sie auch ein 6-monatiges Betriebspraktikum vor. John Koeber war einer von 7 Absolventen aus dem Jahr 2017 – und ist heute glücklich, mit seinen 22 Jahren eine gut bezahlte, feste Anstellung zu haben. Das von Indern geführte Unternehmen Jagdev übernahm ihn nach dem Praktikum.

Erfolgreiche Neuausrichtung der Ausbildung bei Cowa VTC

Gute Schweißer sind angesichts der guten Entwicklung der Bauindustrie in Uganda gesucht. Die neue zweijährige Schweißerausbildung ist ein Ergebnis der Zusammenarbeit von Cowa VTC mit ICEP. Im Rahmen des von der Austrian Development Agency kofinanzierten Programms SWEAR unterstützt ICEP seit Anfang 2015 das Berufsbildungszentren in Kampala zusammen mit 7 anderen Berufsbildungszentren in Kenia und Uganda dabei, sein Ausbildungsangebot zu überarbeiten und am Arbeitsmarkt nachgefragte Ausbildungen anzubieten.

2017 haben 31 Jugendliche die Schweißerausbildung begonnen, 2018 folgt der nächste Kurs in dieser Größe. Jedes Jahr kommen auch neue Unternehmen dazu, bei denen die Jugendlichen das Berufspraktikum absolvieren können. Viele Jugendliche werden von diesen Unternehmen dann auch angestellt. Die Neuausrichtung der Schweißer-Ausbildung zeigt demnach bereits große Erfolge.

Neben der 2-jährigen Schweißerausbildung bietet Cowa VTC auch einen 5-monatigen Kurs für knapp 100 Jugendliche an, die im informellen Sektor, im sogenannten Jua Kali Bereich, arbeiten. Die zusätzliche Qualifikation soll ihnen helfen, besser bezahlte Jobs im Bausektor zu finden. Darüber hinaus bildet Cowa VTC derzeit 27 Agronomen und 21 Tischler aus – alle mit guten Job-Perspektiven.

Die 2-jährige Schweißerausbildung bei COWA VTC

%

Anteil der Absolventen mit fester Anstellung

Jugendliche, die 2018 in Ausbildung stehen

%

Ausbildungszeit, die bei bei Unternehmen verbracht wird

Anzahl der Unternehmen, die 2017 die Kooperation starteten

ICEP und SWEAR

Seit 1999 arbeitet ICEP in Ostafrika im Bereich der Berufsbildung. Im Rahmen des von der Austrian Development Agency kofinanzierten Programms SWEAR (Skills and Work are East Africa’s Resource) unterstützt ICEP seit Anfang 2015 konkret acht ausgewählte Berufsbildungszentren in Nairobi und Kampala dabei, ihr Ausbildungsangebot zu überarbeiten und am Arbeitsmarkt nachgefragte Ausbildungen anzubieten. Unter anderem werden die didaktischen und pädagogischen Strukturen verbessert, Life-skills in das Lehrangebot integriert und die Zusammenarbeit mit Unternehmen und öffentlicher Verwaltung ausgebaut. ICEP setzt zudem auf den Austausch von Know-how zwischen den Ausbildungszentren, um die Qualität der Berufsbildung in der Projektregion langfristig zu sichern.

Im Rahmen von SWEAR hat Cowa VTC seine Ausbildungsprogramme erfolgreich auf den Bedarf der Wirtschaft ausgerichtet – nur so können Jugendlichen echte Job-Perspektiven geboten werden. Chrispine Wanya, die Cowa VTC seit 2015 leitet, unterstreicht, wie stark ihre Arbeit vom Know-how Austausch mit anderen Berufbildungszentren profitiert hat. Ohne die Netzwerkbildung mit den anderen ICEP-Partnern hätten sie nicht den Zugang zu Unternehmen gefunden. „Ständig kommen weitere Unternehmen dazu, die mit uns in der Berufsbildung kooperieren möchten. Ohne SWEAR wäre das alles nicht möglich.“

SWEAR helped us to focus on the institutional development plan. We were pushed to write clearly the mission and the vision. We also did a market survey, which helped us to redesign courses. We learned from entrepreneurs and plant managers that soft skills are missing.

Guiseppe Valerio

Advisor, St. Kizito Kenya

One of our teachers has been to Nairobi three times. She was able to show us what she has learnt. ICEP has also always emphasised the collaboration with enterprises and they keep spreading the gospel, so I know in future we will have even more collaboration with the private sector.

Guinqo Hilaire

Principal, SYC Uganda

The SWEAR project brings together various institutions, which work in the same field and have the same goals for our beneficiaries. We make visits of other vocational training centers and exchange experiences and learn from each other. For me that’s the big win with SWEAR.

Austine Omeno

Principal, ECT Kenya

Partner für Entwicklung

ICEP arbeitet in Entwicklungsländern in enger Kooperation mit Organisationen, die in der jeweiligen Region verwurzelt sind und mit denen es möglich ist, nachhaltige Ausbildungsstrukturen aufzubauen. Bei SWEAR hat ICEP ein Netzwerk von 8 Ausbildungszentren in Uganda und Kenia gebildet, die es einzeln und auch als Netzwerk unterstützt.

Bei der Auswahl seiner Partner verfolgt ICEP konsequent zwei Kriterien: Vetrauenswürdigkeit und Professionalität. Beides ist für ICEP gleich wichtig. Jede Zusammenarbeit basiert auf Vertrauen. Die gute Absicht allein reicht aber auch nicht. Alle 8 Partner für SWEAR besitzen neben der Vision von einer besseren Zukunft, echtem Engagement und Verantwortungsbewusstsein auch die organisatorischen Voraussetzungen und das technische Know-how, um Berufsbildung nachhaltig voranzutreiben.

p

Newsletter

Bleiben Sie über unsere Aktivitäten auf dem Laufenden!

Spende

Unterstützen Sie unsere Arbeit mit einer Spende!

ICEP-Mitglied

Wir freuen uns über jedes fördernde ICEP-Mitglied!

Peter, Elektriker

ICEP und Berufsbildung

ICEP gibt Jugendlichen in Entwicklungsländern durch Berufsbildung bessere Chancen auf Beschäftigung und Einkommen.

Ausrichtung der Ausbildung auf den Bedarf der Wirtschaft

Dabei geht es insbesondere um die Stärkung der Leistungsfähigkeit von Berufsbildungszentren, die Ausrichtung ihrer Ausbildungsangebote auf den Bedarf der Wirtschaft und die bessere Zusammenarbeit mit Unternehmen und öffentlicher Verwaltung. Die Einbindung von lokalen und internationalen Unternehmen in das lokale Berufsbildungssystem ist für ICEP ein besonders wirksamer Hebel, um mehr und bessere Beschäftigung in einer Region zu erreichen.

Ausbildung für Männer und Frauen im informellen Sektor

Eine zweite Zielrichtung der Arbeit von ICEP sind leistbare Qualifizierungsangebote für Männer und Frauen, die sich im – in Entwicklungsländern meist dominanten – informellen Sektor als Selbständige ihre Existenz sichern müssen.

Eine Schwierigkeit vieler Berufbildungszentren in Entwicklungsländern ist, dass die Perspektive der Absolventen auf eine bezahlte Arbeit oft sehr schlecht ist. Teils, weil es an Arbeit fehlt. Teils, weil die Qualität der Ausbildung nicht stimmt. In Nairobi und Kampala gibt es dank der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung immer mehr Unternehmen, die Fachkräfte suchen. Es ist sehr befriedigend zu sehen, wie es die Berufsbildungszentren in unserem SWEAR-Programm immer besser schaffen, ihre Ausbildungsqualität auf den Bedarf der Wirtschaft auszurichten. Und damit vielen Jugendlichen eine echte Chance auf eine bessere Zukunft geben können.

Benedikt Metternich

ICEP Entwicklungsprogramm

Unser Finanzierungspartner

Wir danken auch allen unseren Privatspendern, die unser Berufsbildungsprogramm unterstützen!

Capacity Development

Capacity Buildung von Partnerorganisationen ist Teil des ICEP-Entwicklungsprogramms. ICEP unterstützt seine lokalen Partner dabei, Management und Strukturen zu professionalisieren und hilft beim Aufbau regionaler Partnernetzwerke. ICEPs Capacity Buildung-Ansatz zielt darauf ab, die organisatorische und finanzielle Eigenständigkeit der Partner zu fördern und damit die Nachhaltigkeit ihrer Entwicklungsarbeit zu sichern.

Organisationsentwicklung: ICEP leistet Strategieberatung und fördert die Mitarbeiter von Partnerorganisationen durch Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen.

Partizipative Implementierung: Die gemeinsame Planung und Umsetzung von Projekten erzeugt für die Partnerorganisation einen wichtigen Mehrwert. So regt ICEP im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit institutionelle Lernprozesse an, entwickelt gemeinsame Expertise und hilft, langfristig tragfähige Strukturen aufzubauen.

Know-how Transfer: ICEP identifiziert ähnliche Problemstellungen in unterschiedlichen Regionen, vernetzt Partner im Rahmen von Süd-Süd Kooperationen oder von institutionalisiertem Austausch und bringt deren Know-how in neuen Projekten zur Anwendung.

MEHRschenken
Die Spende zum VERschenken

ICEP

Möllwaldplatz 5 | 1040 Wien T +43 (0)1 9690254 E icep[at]icep.at

ICEP Spendenkonto

IBAN: AT202011100002566133 BIC/SWIFT: GIBAATWWXXX Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Spende!

Newsletter-Anmeldung

Vielen Dank für Ihr Interesse an unserer Arbeit!